Posted in Bite of Breakfast, Seasonal Cooking, Sneak a Snack

The Return of The Invasion of The Pumpkin Spice Latte

 

Today’s date: September 22nd, 2016. This is the official Autumnal Equinox, also known as the first day of fall. So, roll out the red carpet, gather the trumpeters, and a drum-roll please…

It’s here, it’s here! Autumn has finally arrived! But you know what that means: So has the Starbucks child prodigy, the Pumpkin Spice Latte.

Some of you may already stop reading there, and I cannot hold that against you. Once September 1st rolls around and Starbucks releases the PSL, it feels like that is all anyone can talk about. There are three teams: the team that loves PSL, the team that hates PSL, and the team (my team) that loves to watch the drama unfold between the two.

I may be a bit hypocritical in this area, because I have never had a Pumpkin Spice Latte. This is because I like my coffee to taste like coffee. I also like my bagels to taste like bagels, my pancakes to taste like pancakes, and my Cheerios to taste like Cheerios. All you PSL Haters can’t jump on Starbuck’s back for the mind wipe they perform every autumn, because they aren’t the only ones. It seems like as soon as the leaves change color, artificial (and sometimes *natural*) flavoring gets dumped onto everything.

If youre on the team of hating the PSL, I can see your reasoning. It seems like people drink it as an excuse to finally say they drink coffee (it’s not coffee, it’s ice cream that’s been microwaved and poured in a cup). It simply cannot be that good that you are willing to spend almost $6 dollars on a few ounces of a hot beverage.

If you are on the team of loving the PSL, I feel you. It is like autumn in a cup. The first couple sips are like drinking in everything that makes fall wonderful: pretty leaves, cozy sweaters, and nights by a fireplace. It gives you a feeling of nostalgia and excitement for the fun things to come that the season has to offer.

psl

If you are on my team, the team of loving the drama as it unfolds, grab a seat. I love to watch people in the Starbucks line roll their eyes whenever someone at the till orders a PSL. I admit, it does make me wish there was a separate line for people who just want to order a black coffee, but I digress. My roommate Jean says that the PSL is overrated and “basic as fuck” and I agree with her.

Besides the fact that it is an overpriced cup of hot whipped cream, have you ever seem a PSL without the lid? The surface of the beverage is dotted with little pools of oily flavoring that they pump into the cup. It looks like the BP oil spill got an autumn makeover (is that too aggressive?).

Either way, no matter what team you are on autumn is here! I hope you are all ready for the next few (dozen) posts about apple picking, pie making, and pumpkin carving. Fall is my favorite season, so pull on your tall knitted socks and get ready to dive in…to a huge pile of leaves!

XO Maddie

Author:

Hello everyone! My name is Maddie and I am a senior the University of Hartford.

2 thoughts on “The Return of The Invasion of The Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. I have to agree, I think there should be an express line for black coffee. It’s coffee people not a confection- zero calories in those amazing bitter beans! YUM! Stop adding crap to mask the flavor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

