Posted in In-Class Assignments, Uncategorized

Dream Job

buzzfeed logoA job that would be truly fantastic to be a part of would be working for BuzzFeed.

BuzzFeed has headquarters in Anaheim, California, with several satellite branches across the country and the globe.

Being able to work for a company that is Internet based would mean I would be a part of the “breaking news” world, writing stories about popular trends and world events practically as they are happening. BuzzFeed is more than just quizzes about what Harry Potter house you should be sorted into or what Disney princesses would look like in the real world; they also publish real stories about public events.

BuzzFeed also has several channels on YouTube with content that is relatable for ‘millennials’, and sometimes, even their parents. The whole reason I started to consider BuzzFeed as a place to work was because of their videos on YouTube. I follow a lot of “professional YouTubers” and I kept getting videos from BuzzFeed as suggestions to watch. I would soon find myself 10 videos deep on BuzzFeed’s channel, and I would be posting links all over my sisters’ and friends’ Facebook walls.

BuzzFeed has different content for every type of person: taste test videos; life hacks; “10 weird things all couples do” or “what it’s like growing up with a sister”. My personal favorites are the Try Guys. They are just a group of four men in their early 30’s trying out things that they regularly wouldn’t.

Their videos start with relatively normal topics, like, “Try To Survive In The Woods”, and slowly branch out into more–unique–ideas, like, “Try To Be Drag Queens.” At first I would just watch one or two and then go back to what I was doing before (like homework, ha!) and it quickly developed into me watching 40 minutes worth of videos, alone in my room, laughing until I cried or couldn’t breathe.

While most people would think that it is fun bordering on crazy, but that is just the kind of thing that I love. I love making people laugh, and I love getting to know people and seeing them in their everyday environments, and seeing what they do. The only problem with this is that I would classify myself as an outgoing introvert. I love hanging out with people, and I enjoy sharing the company of others. Sometimes, however, it is hard for me to get to know other people and open up to them. There are days when you just have to isolate yourself in your bedroom with all the lights off, binging on Netflix and Doritos.

BuzzFeed is made up of all different kinds of people, but the most important thing is that I see people there that are just like me. If I can see myself working there without even seeing the office or truly knowing what a job there entails, that’s how I know it’s a dream job.

Besides having a fun workplace environment, BuzzFeed allows workers to publish articles from home. Getting to stay in bed and work in my pajamas sounds like the ultimate dream job!

buzzfeed circles

Author:

Hello everyone! My name is Maddie and I am a senior the University of Hartford.

One thought on “Dream Job

Leave a Reply

